Entries for the 2023 Oscar for best international feature are underway, and Screen is profiling each one on this page.

An international feature film is defined as a feature-length motion picture produced outside the US with a predominantly (more than 50%) non-English dialogue track and can include animated and documentary features.

Submitted films must have been released theatrically in their respective countries between January 1, 2022 and November 30, 2022. The deadline for submissions to the Academy is October 3, 2022.

A shortlist of 15 finalists is set to be announced on December 21 with the final five nominees announced on January 24, 2022. The 95th Academy Awards will take place on March 12, 2023 at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles.

The 2022 awards saw 93 submissions, although Jordan withdrew their film, leaving 92 eligible entries. The final five nominees included Denmark’s Flee, Italy’s The Hand Of God, Bhutan’s Lunana: A Yak In The Classroom, Norway’s The Worst Person In The World and eventual winner Drive My Car from Japan.


Latest submissions

Vietnam: 578 Magnum (Dung Luong Dinh)

Jordan: Farha (Darin J. Sallam)

Set in 1948 Palestine, Sallam’s debut is inspired by true events and follows a 14-year-old who is locked up in a small room in an abandoned village where she tries to survive. The film world premiered at Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) last year and picked up the special mention award at the 2022 Red Sea International Film Festival. TaleBox and Laika Film & Television co-produced the feature. Jordan secured its only nomination in 2015 with Naji Abu Nowar’s Theeb. Last year the country withdrew Mohamed Diab’s drama Amira from selection following a local backlash against the film. World Sales: Picture Tree International

Morocco: The Blue Caftan (Maryam Touzani)

Denmark: Holy Spider (Ali Abbasi)



Argentina: Argentina, 1985 (Santiago Mitre)

Brazil: Mars One (Gabriel Martins)

Canada: Eternal Spring (Jason Loftus)

Costa Rica: Domingo And The Mist (Ariel Escalante Meza)

Ecuador: Lo Invisible (Javier Andrade)

Guatemala: The Silence Of The Mole (Anais Taracena)

Panama: Birthday Boy (Arturo Montenegro)


Uruguay: The Employer And The Employee (Manuel Nieto Zas)

Venezuela: The Box (Lorenzo Vigas)



Armenia: Aurora’s Sunrise (Inna Sahakyan)

Bangladesh: Hawa (Mejbaur Rahman Sumon)

India: Last Film Show (Pan Nalin)

Japan: Plan 75 (Chie Hayakawa)

Kazakhstan: Life (Emir Baigazin)

Kyrgyzstan: Home For Sale (Taalaibek Kulmendeev)

Hong Kong: Where The Wind Blows (Philip Yung)

Nepal: Butterfly On The Windowpane (Sujit Bidari)

South Korea: Decision To Leave (Park Chan-wook)

Taiwan: Goddamned Asura (Lou Yi-An)


Albania: A Cup Of Coffee And New Shoes On (Gentian Koçi)

Austria: Corsage (Marie Kreutzer)

Bosnia and Herzegovina: A Ballad (Aida Begić)

Bulgaria: In The Heart Of The Machine (Martin Makariev)

Czech Republic: Il Boemo (Petr Václav)

Denmark: Holy Spider (Ali Abbasi)


Estonia: Kalev (Ove Musting)

France: Saint Omer (Alice Diop)

Georgia: A Long Break (Davit Pirtskhalava)

Germany: All Quiet On The Western Front (Edward Berger)

Greece: Magnetic Fields (Yorgos Gousis)

Hungary: Blockade (Ádám Tősér)

Iceland: Beautiful Beings (Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson)

Ireland: The Quiet Girl (Colm Bairéad)

Italy: Nostalgia (Mario Martone)


Latvia: January (Viestur Kairish)

Lithuania: Pilgrims (Laurynas Bareisa)

Luxembourg: Icarus (Carlo Vogele)

Moldova: Carbon (Ion Borș)

Montenegro: The Elegy Of Laurel (Dušan Kasalica)

The Netherlands: Narcosis (Martijn de Jong)

North Macedonia: The Happiest Man In The World (Teona Strugar Mitevska)

Norway: War Sailor (Gunnar Vikene)

Poland: EO (Jerzy Skolimowski)

Portugal: Alma Viva (Cristèle Alves Meira)

Serbia: Darkling (Dušan Milić)

Slovenia: Orchestra (Matevž Luzar)

Spain: Alcarràs (Carla Simon)

Sweden: Boy From Heaven (Tarik Saleh)

Switzerland: A Piece Of Sky (Michael Koch)

Romania: Immaculate (Monica Stan, George Chiper)

Ukraine: Klondike (Maryna Er Gorbach)