Local Release

(Cineuropa) Persona Non Grata triumphs at this year’s Roberts

by Davide Abbatescianni

On Saturday, the Danish Robert Awards ceremony was held at the Tivoli Hotel & Congress Centre in Copenhagen. This year’s edition saw the triumph of three productions – namely, Jonas Poher Rasmussen’s animated documentary Flee [+], Lisa Jespersen’s dramedy Persona Non Grata [+] and the TV series The Chestnut Man.

Persona Non Grata was crowned Best Feature Film and also scooped the Award for Best Director, marking the first time ever that a first-time female helmer has won the gong. Jespersen also won the Award for Best Original Screenplay along with Sara Isabella Jønsson.

Persona Non Grata has been described as “a humorous drama” revolving around Laura, who has distanced herself from her family in the countryside and has moved to Copenhagen to be a writer and live the bohemian lifestyle. When she is forced to return to her childhood home to participate in her brother’s wedding, she discovers that he is about to marry her worst childhood enemy, Catrine.

Here is the list of this year’s Robert Award winners:

Best Feature Film
Persona Non Grata [+] – Lisa Jespersen (Denmark)

Best Documentary
Flee [+] Jonas Poher Rasmussen (Denmark/France/Norway/Sweden)

Best TV Series
The Chestnut Man - Kasper Barfoed, Mikkel Serup (Denmark)

Best Children & Youth Film
Checkered Ninja 2 [+] Anders Matthesen and Thorbjørn Christoffersen (Denmark)

Best Director
Lisa Jespersen – Persona Non Grata

Best Original Screenplay
Lisa Jespersen and Sara Isabella Jønsson – Persona Non Grata

Best Adapted Screenplay
Anders Matthesen – Checkered Ninja 2

Best Cinematography
Stroud Rohde Pearce – Kandis for Life [+] (Denmark)

Best Editor
Janus Billeskov Jansen – Flee

Best Actor
Simon Bennebjerg – The Pact (Denmark)

Best Actress
Birthe Neumann – The Pact

Best Supporting Actor
Jakob Oftebro – Margrete – Queen of the North [+] (Denmark/Norway/Sweden/Poland/Czech Republic/Iceland)

Best Supporting Actress
Josephine Park – The Venus Effect (Denmark)

Best Actor – TV Series
Besir Zeciri – Outlaw (Denmark)

Best Actress – TV Series
Danica Curcic – The Chestnut Man

Best Supporting Actor – TV Series
David Dencik – The Chestnut Man

Best Supporting Actress – TV Series
Iben Dorner – The Chestnut Man

Best Set Design
Søren Schwarzberg – Margrete – Queen of the North

Best Costume Design
Manon Rasmussen – Margrete – Queen of the North

Best Make-up
Elizabeth Bukkehave – The Shadow in My Eye (Denmark)

Best Sound Design
Edward Björner and Tormod Ringnes – Flee

Best Score
Uno Helmersson – Flee

Best Original Song
“The Last Call” – Lydmor/Jenny Rossander and Christian Schousboe Vium – The Venus Effect

Best Visual Effects
Nikolas D’Andrade, Sébastien Caudron and Mikael Windelin – The Shadow in My Eye

Best Short TV Series
Outlaw – Laurits Flensted-Jensen (Denmark)

Best Short Animation Film
Wild Minds – Hannah Elbke (Denmark)

Best Short Documentary
Love Bound – Vibe Mogensen (Denmark)

Best English-language Film
Nomadland – Chloé Zhao (USA)

Best Non-English-language Film
The Innocents [+] – Eskil Vogt (Norway/Sweden/Denmark/Finland/France/UK)

Go back

In order to be able to offer you the best possible service, we ask you to allow us by active consent to save your data in our customer database. You thereby agree that you will be always informed about news at Picture Tree International and you agree that your data can be stored and used for information campaigns of Picture Tree International such as mailings, e-mails, newsletters, etc.

At the e-mail address or by phone +49 (0) 30 420 824 816 you can revoke your consent at any time, request the modification and deletion of your data and request to receive our privacy policy. To send out newsletters we use the email marketing software "GetResponse". A transfer or use of your data outside our company activities does not occur.

© 2024 PICTURE TREE INTERNATIONAL. All rights reserved.

player engine:

video type:

current level:

Sorry, item "sidearea" does not exist.